Ada County Highway District

News and Press Releases Sunday, May 15, 2022

ACHD Receives Five Awards from WTS Southwest Idaho Chapter

The Ada County Highway District (ACHD) and several staff members are being honored with five prestigious awards from the WTS Southwest Idaho Chapter, an organization dedicated to the advancement of women in the transportation industry.

ACHD was honored as the 2021 Employer of the Year. The award recognizes ACHD as an employer supporting women in transportation, including having a number of women in executive and senior positions, and providing career and development programs in place for women to advance within the organization. In 2021, women represented 35% of ACHD's leadership positions, 40% of the District's Executive Leadership team, 47% of licensed Professional Engineers, and 40% of elected positions.

In addition to ACHD being awarded Employer of the Year, the following staff members have been recognized for their outstanding contributions to the industry and advancement of women in transportation:Photograph of Jennifer Berenger

Jennifer Berenger, ACHD Deputy Director of Maintenance, was honored as Woman of the Year. The Woman of the Year is a leader in transportation, has made an outstanding contribution to the transportation industry, and directly contributed toward the advancement of women and minorities through programs or opportunities in the transportation field. As ACHD's first female Deputy Director of Maintenance, she is responsible for the oversight and strategic planning of District programs and functions as related to repair and maintenance of 5270+ miles of District-maintained roads throughout Ada County, including winter snow removal, chip seal operations, stormwater management, street cleaning, and sidewalk maintenance.

Photograph of Rachel ChipmanRachel Chipman, ACHD Accessibility Compliance Supervisor, was selected to receive the Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award. This award recognizes an individual contributing significantly to promoting diversity, inclusion, and multi-cultural awareness within their organization. She currently supervises a new Accessibility Compliance Section within the Traffic Department at the Ada County Highway District (ACHD). In this role and her past roles, she mentors and trains employees, including many women and multi-cultural staff, on the importance of accessibility in transportation.

Photograph of Meg McCarthyMeg McCarthy, ACHD Bicyclist and Pedestrian Program Coordinator, received the Innovative Transportation Solutions Award for her lead role in the Livable Streets Performance Measures Project. This award recognizes a female project manager who successfully met and overcame challenges in a project. Meg McCarthy is ACHD's first Bicyclist and Pedestrian Program Coordinator and plays a key role in creating an inclusive transportation network that serves all residents of Ada County.Photograph of Bruce Wong

Bruce Wong, ACHD Executive Director, is the recipient of the Honorable Ray LaHood Award. This award recognizes a man who leads by example, seeks out opportunities to advance and advocate for women in his own organization, and has made an outstanding contribution to the transportation industry.

The winners were presented with their awards at the annual Southwest Idaho Chapter of the Women in Transportation Gala on May 12.


Shandy Lam
Deputy Director of Communications

Rachel Bjornestad
Public Information Officer

Christy Foltz-Ahlrichs
Sr. Communications Specialist

Emma Bowers
Digital Media Coordinator

ACHD Main Line 208-387-6100
Contact Us at: Tell Us

News Archives

We Drive Quality Transportation For All Ada County ~

Ada County Highway District © 2017
For Questions or problems with this Web site contact the Webmaster
Privacy Policy