News and Press Releases Wednesday, March 4, 2020

ACHD, staff win awards at annual WTS Gala

The Ada County Highway District (ACHD) and two staff members received three prestigious awards at the Southwest Idaho Chapter of the Women in Transportation (WTS) Gala Thursday night. The 1920s themed event was held at the Hillcrest Country Club.

Photograph of Commission President, Mary MayThe honor of Employer of the Year was given to ACHD for encouraging the professional development of their staff, the equal distribution of women and men in leadership and management roles within the organization, and for providing continual support for the WTS mission and women pursuing careers in the transportation industry. ACHD Commission President Mary May accepted the award on behalf of the agency.

Photograph of Kathleen GodfreyKathleen Godfrey, ACHD Commuteride Outreach Specialist, was honored as Member of the Year for her tireless support of WTS and their missions and goals. She volunteers in three WTS programs, including raising money for scholarships, participating with the Transportation You campaign, and organizing the WTS annual gala. Godfrey has been a member of the WTS since 2015.

Christy Little, ACHD Manager of Development Services, received the honor of Woman of the Year. Photograph of Kathleen GodfreyLittle, who has worked in the transportation industry for more than 20 years, also has a huge heart for her community. She tirelessly volunteers at the Interfaith Sanctuary, where she and her young daughter throw monthly birthday parties for the children housed their temporarily. Every Christmas she arranges the sponsorship of a family who is transitioning out of the shelter and helps them get on their feet. This past year, she received the national Jefferson Award for her efforts.


Other awards presented at the gala included:

  • Scholarship Winners
    • Memorial Scholarship - Hannah Ovre
    • Leadership Legacy Scholarship - Nuzhat Yamin
  • Lifetime Leadership Award - Retired Meridian Mayor Tammy de Weerd
  • Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award - Connie Miller
  • Innovative Transportation Solution Award - HDR (Tracy Ellwein), State Street and Pierce Park Intersection Project
  • Ray LaHood Award - Dave Butzier

Return to News


Shandy Lam
Deputy Director of Communications

Rachel Bjornestad
Public Information Officer

Christy Foltz-Ahlrichs
Sr. Communications Specialist

Emma Bowers
Digital Media Coordinator

ACHD Main Line 208-387-6100
Contact Us at: Tell Us

News Archives

We Drive Quality Transportation For All Ada County ~

Ada County Highway District © 2017
For Questions or problems with this Web site contact the Webmaster
Privacy Policy