ACHD Commissioners

2016 Commission Election

Incumbent Commissioners Rebecca Arnold, District 2, and Sara Baker, District 5, won re-election on November 8th to new, four-year terms at the Ada County Highway District. Arnold won with 55 percent of the vote against David Eberle, while Baker took a decisive 45 percent in a three-way race against Rick Just (19 percent) and Mike Tracy (36 percent).

The Idaho Statesman's Election Night coverage

Three Commission seats, a majority, appeared on the ballot -- Districts 1, 2 and 5. District 1 covers much of southeast Boise, south of downtown and east of Cole Road. District 2 takes in the middle of Ada County, roughly between Ustick Road and Interstate 84 and Linder Road and the Boise River. District 5 covers a portion of northwest Ada, from Glenwood to Can-Ada Road and between the river and Ustick Road and the interstate.

  • District 1: Commissioner Jim Hansen drew no opposition;
  • District 2: Commissioner Rebecca Arnold was challenged by David Eberle;
  • District 5: Commissioner Sara Baker was challenged by Rick Just and Mike Tracy.

See the candidates' financial reports and other information

The Idaho Statesman covered the race in the October 21, 2016 edition.

Voters cast ballots for the Commission seat representing the area where they live. In each race, the candidate getting the most votes will be the winner -- a majority is not required.

The ACHD Commission has five members who serve four-year terms. Commission seats are non-partisan, local government offices and do not appear on the primary ballot in May. The compensation for the part-time post is a monthly stipend of $1,860. The president of the Commission, chosen annually from among the Commissioners, receives an additional $375 per month, or $2,235.

The Commission sets policy for the District, the only countywide highway agency in Idaho, which serves all of the residents of Ada County, including residents of the incorporated cities. The Commissioners generally meet on the first four Wednesdays of each month, excluding holidays.

To qualify to run for the ACHD Commission, a candidate must:

  • Be at least 21 years old (Idaho Code 34-625A).
  • Be a citizen of the United States.
  • Be a resident of the ACHD Sub-district for which he/she seeks office.
  • Fill out a Declaration of Candidacy form and pay the filing fee of $10.00. Candidates file at the Ada County Clerk's Office, 400 Benjamin Ln., Suite 100, in Boise.
  • Appoint a campaign treasurer if any money will be collected or spent in seeking office.

Idaho Code 40-1404A prevents county commissioners, mayors and city council members from holding office on a countywide highway district commission, such as ACHD.

The last day to have filed to run for an ACHD seat and appear on the ballot was August 10, 2016; write-in candidates had until September 23, 2016 to file. Please see this list of key dates for the election.

Candidate information and financial reports

Once a candidate has filed to run, the individual must also appoint a campaign treasurer and submit the signed form to the ACHD Clerk of the Board. All subsequent campaign spending reports must be filed with the ACHD clerk.

If you need additional information about the ACHD Commission election, please contact Stacey Spencer, Secretary of the Commission, at 387-6110 or at