ACHD Commissioners

2012 Commission Election

Rebecca Arnold and Sara Baker were re-elected on November 6, 2012 and Jim Hansen was elected to a first term on the ACHD Commission. A majority the ACHD Commission seats -- Districts 1, 2 and 5 -- were on the General Election ballot.

Full Results

District 1 generally takes in Southeast Ada County, following Interstate 84, Federal Way and Warm Springs Avenue from downtown east to the county line. District 2 covers the central portion of the county, running west of downtown along the I-84 corridor and mostly south of Ustick Road. District 5 covers the northwest area of the county, running generally north of Ustick and up to the Boise River. Please see this map for details.

District 1:

District 2:

District 5:

Campaign Resources



To meet legal requirements for equal population distribution between voting districts, the Commission adopted new voting district boundaries on April 25, 2012 to redraw the lines for the 2012 election.

Voters cast ballots for the Commission seat representing the area where they live. In each race, the candidate getting the most votes will be the winner -- a majority is not required.

The ACHD Commission has five members who serve four-year terms. Commission seats are non-partisan, local government offices and do not appear on the primary ballot in May. The compensation for the part-time post is a monthly stipend of $1,728. The president of the Commission, chosen annually from among the Commissioners, receives an additional $347 per month.

The Commission sets policy for the District, the only countywide highway agency in Idaho, which serves all of the residents of Ada County, including residents of the incorporated cities. The Commissioners generally meet on the first four Wednesdays of each month, excluding holidays.

To qualify to run for the ACHD Commission, a candidate must:

Idaho Code 40-1404A prevents county commissioners, mayors and city council members from holding office on a countywide highway district commission, such as ACHD.

The last day to file to run for an ACHD seat and appear on the ballot was August 8, 2012, and those wishing to run as write-in candidates had until September 21, 2012 to file. Please see this list of key dates for the election.

If you need additional information about the ACHD Commission election, please contact Stephanie Blake, Secretary of the Commission, at 387-6110 or at