Advisory Committees
Bicycle Advisory Committee

Matt Edmond
Senior Transportation Planner

Additional Committee Members
The Bicycle Advisory Committee generally meets the first Monday of every month. Meetings start at 6:00 p.m. in the ACHD Auditorium.

2015 Schedule:

  • Monday, January 5*
  • Monday, February 2
  • Monday, March 2
  • Monday, April 6
  • Monday, May 4
  • Monday, June 1
  • Monday, July 6*
  • Monday, August 3
  • Monday, August 31#
  • Monday, October 5
  • Monday, November 2
  • Monday, December 7

*Tentative date, subject to cancellation based on forecast business and attendance.

# Due to the Labor Day holiday, this will be considered September's meeting.


The Bicycle Advisory Committee, a group of area cyclists representing commuters and recreational users, advises the District about new road designs, roadway maintenance needs specific to cyclists and other cycling-related issues. The committee generally meets on the first Monday of each month at 6 p.m. in the ACHD Auditorium, 3775 Adams St., Garden City.

The Ada County Highway District plans for bicycle facilities as part of all of our road projects, a commitment that has led in part to the doubling of the miles of bikeways over the past decade. The county has more than 250 miles of bike lanes, and over 400 bike wayfinding signs. Bike lane mileage in the county has increased nearly fivefold since the mid-1990s, when the tally was 57 miles.

The District spends about $1.7 million a year on cycling facilities -- primarily in the form of lanes on new or expanded roads. That represents about 5.5 percent of ACHD's annual capital budget. The net result is an average of about seven miles of new bicycle facilities each year. Bicycle Friendly Community

Through ACHD's efforts, Ada County has been designated as a "Bicycle Friendly Community" by the League of American Bicyclists.

The Committee's members are:

  • George C. Knight (Chair) teaches at Boise State University and lives in West Boise

  • Dave Fotsch (Vice Chair) is an avid road, mountain and touring cyclist. Dave is Director of the Boise Bike Share program. He lives in Boise’s north end from which all his cycling adventures begin.

  • David Bogie (Secretary) represents the Treasure Valley Cycling Alliance, a group that promotes cycling advocacy and education.

  • Ross Dodge lives in northwest Boise and has an extensive background in transportation planning in the Treasure Valley.

  • Cynthia Gibson represents the Idaho Pedestrian & Bicycle Alliance.

  • Marcus Orton is the Safe Routes to School Coordinator for the Treasure Valley. He is also the education specialist for the Boise Bicycle Project. He is a tireless advocate for utilitarian cycling.

  • Wava Kaufman is a 6th grade teacher at Reed Elementary School, a track and cross country coach at Kuna Middle School, and an advocate for making Kuna and other communities in Ada County more bike friendly.

  • Joyce Johnson is an avid road cyclist, cycling advocate and resident of Lakewood in Southeast Boise who currently works for the Boise School District.

  • David Guiotto is a member of the Bicycle Advisory Committee.

ACHD staff:

  • Matt Edmond -- is a Senior Transportation Planner and District Pedestrian & Bicycle Coordinator
  • Josh Saak -- is a bicycle commuter, avid cyclist and Traffic Design Engineer